I received a couple of emails about a tomato sauce I mentioned on Twitter.  I find it much better than your typical jarred variety.  A friend shared it with me, but I have altered it slightly.  The original is from Jo Pratt’s In The Mood For Food.

Simple Tomato Sauce

Serves 4 – takes about 30 mins to make

Put 2 x 400g tinned tomatoes in a saucepan with 1-2 tsp of dried chilli flakes, 2 crushed garlic cloves, 2 tablespoons of olive oil, 1 teaspoon of balsamic vinegar, 1 teaspoon of caster sugar and a good pinch of salt and freshly ground black pepper.

Bring to a simmer and cook over a low heat for 20-30 minutes until the sauce is rich and thick.

Modifications:

I use less dried chilli flakes, maybe half a teaspoon.  I also use regular sugar and add Italian seasonings (like you get from McCormick) and rosemary.

Very cheap and very good.

