Welcome to November and the first day of NaNoWriMo aka National Novel Writing Month, billed as “thirty days and nights of literary abandon.” The object is simple in concept, if not in execution. Write a novel in a month. Specifically, 55K words of a novel. That equals 1833 words a day. Not easy, but possible if one makes it a priority. I’ve been on the fence about doing this, as I really want to revise a novel I’ve already written. I sat down with it last night, thought about the problems that I see with it, but felt no desire to revisit it just yet. So, instead, I will try to write something new from the seat of my pants. I will give myself permission to write for quantity and see where it takes me. This week will be especially challenging, as I have no plot, no characters, or ideas. That, and I have plans for the next couple of nights after work and a weekend visitor. Still, I am up for the challenge. I won’t be posting my writing here, but I will post on my progress. Good luck to everyone participating!

